Traffic Calming Committee


  • Frank Arcuri, Council
  • Tracy Bidoli, School District
  • Doug Grimes, Police Chief
  • Jared Scott, Public Works Director
  • Ryan Jeroski, Assistant Township Manager
  • Aaron Smith, Planning Commission
  • Mark Zemaitis, Engineering Director
  • Ed Zuk, Planning Director


The Traffic Calming Committee was appointed by Council to implement the Traffic Calming Policy adopted in 2007. The committee is comprised of: 

  • A Council Member
  • A Planning Commissioner
  • The Planning Director
  • The Police Chief
  • The Public Works Director
  • The School District Transportation Director
  • The Township Manager

The committee obtains technical advice from a consulting traffic engineer.


The committee reviews requests for traffic calming studies. They examine if an area meets the criteria for a study, this includes factors such as volume of traffic and/or speeds. To submit a petition for a study, a minimum of 20 households are required at the time of submission. The households must be in the area of the traffic calming study request.

Traffic Counts are conducted and other studies done if needed. The committee will ultimately make a recommendation of specific traffic calming measures that can include signs, striping, speed humps, chicanes or diversions. The process is driven by the residents of the area, if a majority of the residents are in favor of the proposal it is submitted to Council. It is Council's discretion to approve, deny or modify the recommendation. Implementation timing is based on the specific measures to be installed.

Additional Information

For more information or if you wish to obtain petition forms, please contact the Assistant Township Manager, Ryan Jeroski at 724-941-4180.